Snow

I’m a Florida girl who is now living in Nebraska after an 8 year stint in Georgia.  My time in Georgia taught me an important lesson.  If it snows…school is cancelled.  I have always thought that this was an UNSPOKEN unalienable right.  You know…from the Declaration of Independence.

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness”

The pursuit of Happiness surely refers to the ability to frolic in the snow whenever it chooses to fall from the sky.  The state of Georgia certainly believes this.  It snows.  There’s “snow” school.  Clever, right?  The state of Nebraska has a differing opinion.  Supposedly it snows a lot here…(I have seen NO proof of this…because Georgia has had about four times as much snow as Nebraska so far this year)  so they have the proper road clearing equipment.  Nebraska might embrace the United States Postal belief….

“neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of night stays these couriers from the swift completion of their appointed rounds”

Enough about that…

Today has been a wonderful, snowy Sunday.  We chose to get out of the apartment and give me a driving lesson in the snow.  FUN TIMES.  It actually went better than expected, which could be proven by the appearance of my car in the garage…completely unscathed.  I chauffeured my family to the ice rink so that they could spend some time on the ice.  I watched proudly from the bleachers, as I read a book called Wondrous Words by Katie Wood Ray for a school committee.  Enjoy the images you see below….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We are about to embark on a journey across the apartment complex to a good sledding hill.  David will be hobbling due to his new skates.  Apparently he should have been wearing them while sitting on the couch with wet socks for the past week or something.

1 Comment

  1. Nancy

    LOL! wet socks…huh?

Leave a comment